

## General Membership Meeting April 22, 2016

Call to Order	The meeting was called to order by President H. Price @ 1230.
Attendance	Four (4) states were represented. DE, NJ, OH, and PA.
Minutes	The Minutes of March 27, 2015 were accepted as written.
Treasurer's Report	The Treasurer's report was read by H. Price, President. The April 20, 2016 balance for the <u>Business</u> <u>Select Checking</u> is <b>\$52,917.85</b> . The April 20, 2016 balance for the <u>CD</u> is <b>\$10,105.84</b> . The April 20, 2016 balance for the <u>Savings Account</u> is <b>\$10,027.83</b> . The \$37,000 increase in the Business Select Checking is from funds transferred from FANEL, to be used for scholarships.
Committee Reports	
<ul> <li>Program</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>C. Hernandez commented, there are 74 registered participants (a decrease of <u>41</u> participants or 36%) from 9 schools of nursing (a decrease of <u>11</u> schools of nursing) and 4 states (no change). It is generally felt that the date of the program interfered with end of the school year activities and reports, therefore the decrease in participants.</li> <li>Next year's program will return to March (March17, 2017). It will once again be held at the Clarion in Essington, PA.</li> <li>There are 9 vendors in attendance. Edvance360 was not able to attend. Suggestions for additional vendors for 2017 are: Elsevier, Kaplan, Thomas Jefferson University, NLN, and NCSBN.</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Membership</li> </ul>	There are 21 paid member schools of nursing. Letters will be sent to hospital-based schools of nursing from the NANE list. B. Ross will assist with marketing.
<ul> <li>Scholarship / Awards</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>H. Price announced the \$1000 scholarship winners for the academic year 2015-2016: The LPN to RN Scholarship winner for 2015-2016: Nakia Lewis; Dixon School of Nursing (Willow Grove, PA)</li> <li>Generic Student Scholarship winners for 2015-2016: Amber Fryer; Joseph McCloskey School of Nursing (Pottsville, PA) Lauren Earnshaw; Reading School of Nursing (Reading, PA) Bryan Antilles; Sharon Regional School of Nursing (Sharon, PA)</li> <li>The Faculty Excellence Award winner for 2015 – 2016: Dr. Anita Fennessey; Dixon School of Nursing (Willow Grove, PA)</li> <li>It was a difficult time getting Faculty Excellence nominees. Next year the award will be changed to</li> </ul>
	a \$1000 Faculty Grant to be used to further education or seminar attendance in the hopes of increasing the number of applicants.
<ul> <li>Web Site</li> </ul>	The website will be managed by a webmaster.
<ul> <li>Nominations</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>A.Pasco announced the election results: Secretary: B. Brunow Director Scholarship/Awards: D. Hines Director Programs: S. Richardson</li> <li>Only 8 ballots were received. This year an option for a write-in was made available. There is one face-to-face board meeting (afternoon prior to the Spring program) and one general membership meeting (lunchtime during the Spring program). All other meetings are conference calls.</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Bylaws / Resolutions</li> </ul>	The Bylaws are on the website. Mai-ly Pulley volunteered to chair the Bylaws/Resolutions vacancy.
Goals	The 2014 NCHASCN Goals were read by H. Price with no suggestions for change. One major goal to continue working on, is increasing membership.

State Reports	
• OH	Ohio reviewed nurse competencies and completed a gap analysis.
ACEN	An agreement between ACEN and NLN achieved.
Announcements	2017 NCHASCN Conference will be March 17, 2017.
Adjournment	The meeting was adjourned @ 1300.
	Respectfully submitted,
	Barbara A. Brunow
	Barbara A. Brunow
	Secretary